Forum Home Forum Home > Feature Requests > Identity Finder for Windows
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Change of behavior when Closing Identity Finder
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Change of behavior when Closing Identity Finder

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
pzuge View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Nov 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pzuge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Change of behavior when Closing Identity Finder
    Posted: 18 Jul 2011 at 11:18am
[This is in regards to Identity Finder opening/closing a 'saved results file' (*.idf)]

When a normal document is opened (inside most Windows programs), clicking the "red X" button in the upper right corner of the title bar will prompt you to save the work you've done.  This action is a "Save", meaning it saves the changes to the open/current document.

Identity Finder, on the other hand, prompts the user to select a filename to save to (in effect, a "Save As...").  If the end-user has opened a document it should be assumed that they want to save changes to that file, otherwise they would select "Save As..." from the file menu like any other windows program.

I know that clicking the little "Save" icon, or selecting "FILE - SAVE" will accomplish this task, but end-user behavior is not so easy to change.  Many people open a saved results file, make some progress on cleaning, then click the red X expecting to be prompted to save their work.  What they get is a prompt asking for a filename.  It appears that many people end up with multiple versions of their saved results file because they forget the name they last used, or where they placed it.  

This isn't to knock a great product, just wishing an inconsistency could get addressed (or at least explained why it needs to be different).

Thanks.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down